Min menu


The Pyramids of Giza The Seventh Wonder of the Ancient World

 The Giza Plateau has been a popular site with visitors down through the ages, and particularly with tourists since the 19th century. The Pyramids of Giza, one of Egypt's best known sites, is a magnificent structure indeed. It is located slightly south of the entrance of the Delta. It is one of the northernmost cemeteries of the Memphite necropolis. The pyramid, called the Pyramid of Kheops was one of the Seven Wonders of the World.

Ancient Egyptian Giza Pyramids

Giza Pyramids location

Giza Pyramids location

The Giza Pyramid Complex, also called the Giza Necropolis, is the site on the Giza Plateau in Greater Cairo, Egypt that includes the Great Pyramid of Giza, the Pyramid of Khafre, and the Pyramid of Menkaure, along with their associated pyramid complexes and the Great Sphinx of Giza. All were built during the Fourth Dynasty of the Old Kingdom of Ancient Egypt.

The site also includes several cemeteries and the remains of a workers village. The site is at the edges of the Western Desert, approximately 9 kilometres (5.6 mi) west of the Nile River in the city of Giza, and about 13 kilometres (8 mi) southwest of the city centre of Cairo.

Giza Pyramids facts

The three largest and best-preserved of these were built at Giza at the beginning of the Old Kingdom. The most well-known of these pyramids was built for the pharaoh Khufu. It is known as the 'Great Pyramid'.In the early part of the Old Kingdom, the Egyptians built mainly mastabas, a kind of tomb with a flat roof like a house.
Then throughout most of the Old Kingdom, the Egyptians built the pyramid tombs which are now so famous. Of course they also built smaller buildings like houses and butcher shops. In the Middle Kingdom, the mastaba tomb came back again, although in a more elaborate form for the Pharaohs.

They didn't build any more pyramids. Then in the New Kingdom there was a lot of building that was not tombs: temples for the gods especially, but also palaces for the Pharaohs.The Great Sphinx of Egypt, one of the wonders of ancient Egyptian architecture, adjoins the pyramids of Giza and has a length of 240 ft. Built in the fourth dynasty, it is approximately 4,500 years old.

The Three Great Pyramids of Giza

The Giza pyramid complex consists of the Great Pyramid (also known as the Pyramid of Cheops or Khufu ), the somewhat smaller Pyramid of Khafre (or Chephren) a few hundred meters to the south-west, and the relatively modest-sized Pyramid of Menkaure (or Mykerinos) a few hundred meters farther south-west.

 The Great Sphinx lies on the east side of the complex. Current consensus among Egyptologists is that the head of the Great Sphinx is that of Khafre. Along with these major monuments are a number of smaller satellite edifices, known as "queens" pyramids, causeways and valley pyramids.

The Three Great Pyramids of Giza

 The Great Cheops:

The most famous structure in the world was built by King Cheops (4th Dynasty) around 2650 B.C. Its height is 137 metres (originaly 146 metres). Almost 2.5 million blocks of stone were put into building this construction.

All this, however, dwindles when compared to the precision and astounding ability of the ancient Egyptians in building this construction. Close to the eastern flank of Cheops are three small pyramids dedicated either to his wives or family members.


Built by Pharaoh Kephren. At the base, it measures 215.5 square metres and it is 136 metres hight. Its interior is simple, with two entrances on the north side. This Pyramid, like all other, had an exterior covering of fine-grain limestone. Now, only a small part of this covering remains.

The visitor can also still see the remains of his mortuary temple, the Temple of the Valley, and its rising causeway. These temples witnessed the religious rites during the embalming of the body.


Built by Mycerinus (Menkaure) it is much smaller than either one (62 metres). It is distinguished by the fact that the lower part of its sides still retains their granite slab coverings.

The three constructions of Giza are surrounded by several small ones and hundreds of mastaba-tombs for the royal family, nobles, and other high-ranking people.

The Solar Boats (The Boats of Cheops):

The Ancient Egyptians carved spacious areas in the rock. There they placed wooden boats, to be at the disposal of the King when he went on his journey of Day and Night with the sun god, Ra, in the afterworld.
Early excavations have discovered three such sun boat sites on the east side of the Great Cheops. Two other sites were discovered on the south side. When the huge stone slabs were removed, they revealed parts of a large boat made of cedar wood in very good condition.

The Solar Boats (The Boats of Cheops):

The Solar Boats (The Boats of Cheops):

The Solar Boats (The Boats of Cheops):

There were also other implements, such as oars, ropes and a kiosk for sitting. The boat was 43.5 metres long, the prow and stern were 5 and 7 metres high respectively. The boats are now housed in a special museum, south of the construction of Cheops. The museum is open from 9-4 daily, for a fixed fee.
Great Sphinx of Giza

Great Sphinx of Giza :

On the way to The Temple of the Valley lies the large statue of the Sphinx. Like the pyramids it is also one of the most famous monuments in the world. It is 70 metres long and 20 metres high.

Scholars and scientists are of the opinion that the face of the Sphinx closely resembles that of King Kephren. The Sphinx and the three pyramids are regarded as one of the seven wonders of the world.